5 Replies Latest reply on Aug 24, 2010 3:13 PM by 738840

P6 Ver 7  Server Install steps

I am new at P6.
      I want to setup server and web access for employees.

I download files from oracle web.
      ClientApplication
      Database
      Progress_Reporter
      Tools
      Web_Access
      Web_Services
      RDB

Server: Windows 2003 with IIS 6
      Client: XP or Vista ( by web or client application)

Where do i begin to setup in server ?
      Do i need install client application to windows 2003 ?

Can anybody give me some idea where i can begin?

Thanks
        • 1. Re: P6 Ver 7  Server Install steps
          Normally the IT department in every company installs and maintain the server related issues.
          I would suggest taking their help if possible.
          Cheers.
          • 2. Re: P6 Ver 7  Server Install steps
            user164697
            Hi there,

I've installed this product many many times. To begin, be aware you've taken on a bit of a challenge, especially if you've never done a Primavera install before. Web Access is a complicated beast and requires some software outside of the install packs.

0) Read the documentation. Not sure if you downloaded the documentation media pack, but the complete install instructions are included. Look for the administrative guide - it should explain how to install all apps.

1) I would begin with your database. Primavera supports either Oracle or Microsoft SQL. If your IT department doesn't already have an enterprise install of either of these, then you can use the scaled-back free versions - Oracle XE is the free Oracle db engine. MS SQL 2005 express is the free microsoft engine. But be aware that these free versions have limitations on the number of users that can connect to them. Do a google search for either to download and install. Google either engine, tag on the word "limitations" to understand what you are not getting with the free versions.