7 Replies Latest reply: May 10, 2010 1:22 AM by prasad bolla - oracle77354 RSS

Using BI Apps with applications other than Oracle, Peoplesoft and ....

Hi all,

I'm new in BI Applications. We have developed our applications with oracle tools and technologies. Is there any possibility to use Oracle BI Apps with our own database and applications?

Regards,

Iman
        • 1. Re: Using BI Apps with applications other than Oracle, Peoplesoft and ....
          remc0
          yes there is, you can use the universal adapter, meaning, you can connect every source system by creating your own interface to the datawarehouse. However, I think you really have to look if you really want to use BI applications or perhaps you just want to use OBIEE without the BI apps content...
          • 2. Re: Using BI Apps with applications other than Oracle, Peoplesoft and ....
            thank you for your reply.

Would you please explain me more about universal adapter. I didn't heard about it!

Thanks in advance.
            • 3. Re: Using BI Apps with applications other than Oracle, Peoplesoft and ....
              I'll try to explain the "Universal Adapter."

So Oracle BI Applications contains the presentation catolog (prebuilt reports and dashboards), the .rpd (prebuilt business logic), and the Informatica Repository (the ETL process).

The warehouse model stays fairly consistent regardless of the platform. The "ETL Process" runs through SDE (source depent extract), SIL (source independent), and PLP (post load) mappings.
              By utilizing the "Universal Adapter/Container" you are still able to utilize the standard .rpd and presentation catalog.