1 2 3 Previous Next 36 Replies Latest reply on May 3, 2010 5:07 AM by 770418

EM configuration failed

Hi everyone,

I'm a novice in Oracle.
      I get certain error messages while installing Oracle 11g
      I use a single stand alone system,that is not connected to any network and i also share a wireless network(address type is assigned by DHCP).

Before installing, during the Pre-requisite check there was a warning for the system in which DHCP is enabled , microsoft loopback adapter should be installed.

http://download.oracle.com/docs/cd/B19306_01/install.102/b14316/reqs.htm#BABFHCJG

Using the above link i installed microsoft loopback adapter, but i could not perform steps 17 & 18 as my system is not connected to a domain
      +17.Add a line to the SYSTEM_DRIVE:\WINNT\system32\drivers\etc\hosts file with the following format, right after the localhost line:+

IP_address   hostname.domainname   hostname

+18.Check the network configuration:+

a.Open System in the Control Panel, and select the Network Identification tab.

In Full computer name, make sure you see the host name and the domain name, for example, sales.us.mycompany.com.

b.Click Properties.

In Computer name, you should see the host name, and in Full computer name, you should see the host name and domain name. Using the previous example, the host name would be sales and the domain would be us.mycompany.com.

c.Click More. In Primary DNS suffix of this computer, the domain name, for example, us.mycompany.com, should appear.

d.Exit the System Control Panel.
      By the end of installation, i get an error message stating

EM configuration failed due to the following error.
      Listener is not up. Start the listener and run EM configuration assistant again.
      Refer to log file at D:\app\Administrator\cfgtoollogs\dbca\oracle\emconfig. Log
      you can rety configuring this database with EM by manually running D:\app\Administrator\product\11.1.0\db_3\BIN\emca script