8 Replies Latest reply: May 10, 2010 6:17 PM by 445476 RSS

Using Date in where clause

Hello all,

I am new to Oracle, currently using 10G + aspvbscript.

I've been trying to query data using date in where clause but nothing seems to work.

The column is in date format.

It gets printed out like this: 5/1/2010 11:21:19 AM

I tried using this query:

SELECT * from table where TRUNC(user_date) > to_date('FEB-01-2010:00:00:00','mm-dd-yyyy:HH24:MI:SS') order by user_date asc.

It does return an output but it returns everything in table and does not take WHERE clause into consideration however, it does sort the date in ascending order.

I've tried getting rid of TRUNC tried to format date in a different way but no such luck.

Please point me to the right direction.

Thanks.
        • 1. Re: Using Date in where clause
          Centinul
          Welcome to the forums!

In cases like this it is helpful if you can provide the following information:

1. Oracle version (SELECT * FROM V$VERSION)
          2. Sample data in the form of CREATE / INSERT statements.
          3. Expected output
          4. Explanation of expected output (A.K.A. "business logic")
          5. Use \
           tags for #2 and #3. See FAQ (Link on top right side) for details.

I'll try and take a stab at your request based on the data given. What your query says is that it will return all rows that have a date greater then 2/1/2010 (MM/DD/YYYY). If your query is returning all rows then maybe the possibility exists that all the dates in the table are greater then 2/1/2010. Have you checked all dates to see if this is the case?

Also, one note about your TO_DATE() function.
          to_date('FEB-01-2010:00:00:00','mm-dd-yyyy:HH24:MI:SS')