4 Replies Latest reply: May 11, 2010 8:56 AM by 753487 RSS

Date to Timestamp

Hi,

I am new to PL/SQL, basically I am a java developer, now writing procedure, need your help.

I am writing a procedure to take record from one table say MESSAGES and insert into new table SAP_MESSAGES, where MESSAGES table has only date column , where as SAP_MESSAGES has timestamp column, customer wanted to insert timestamp into 2nd table which should have date from 1st table and concatenate 12:00AM to each date andf insert that timestamp value in 2nd table(as 1st table is only providing date)

how can I do that in PL/SQL, my cursor in procedures reads the records from 1st table, then I have to set the timestamp variable by getting date value from 1st record.

can you help me.

SK.
        • 1. Re: Date to Timestamp
          Roy4321
          Try:
          select to_timestamp(trunc(sysdate)) from dual
          • 2. Re: Date to Timestamp
            fsitja
            Date type may also have a time component, just like timestamp. On the other hand only timestamp types can store fractional seconds.

So if you need to concatenate the hour/minute part for each date with a constant then you could even do it with the date data type.

Anyway, to achieve what you're aiming this should do:
            Connected to Oracle Database 10g Enterprise Edition Release 10.2.0.4.0 
            Connected as fsitja

SQL> 
            SQL> create table messages (dt date);

Table created
            SQL> create table sap_messages (dt timestamp);

Table created
            SQL> insert into messages values (to_date('01/01/2010', 'DD/MM/YYYY'));

1 row inserted
            SQL> insert into sap_messages
              2  select to_timestamp(to_char(dt, 'DD/MM/YYYY') || ' 12:00', 'DD/MM/YYYY HH24:MI')
              3    from messages;

1 row inserted
            SQL> select * from sap_messages;

DT
            -------------------------------------------------
            01/01/10 12:00:00,000000

SQL>