This discussion is archived
13 Replies Latest reply: Oct 29, 2011 5:11 AM by user12832146 RSS

Difference between contract creation and project creation

HawkerHunter Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
I am new to Oracle Projects. In Oracle Project Contracts I can see that we create a new contract. Also in Oracle Projects we can create a new Project.
Can anyone please let me know what is the difference between creating a contract and creating a project in Oracle Projects.
Can we create a project based on an already created contract?

Regards
  • 1. Re: Difference between contract creation and project creation
    Dina Rotem Guru
    Hi

A project and a contract are two separate entities.
    A project is the place to plan the work, assign resources, develop a budget, collect actual costs, track progress, and generate revenue. A project is a vehicle to manage the execution by the contractor.
    A contract is the commercial agreement between the customer and the contractor. From the contract you allocate funds to the project. Later on you can initiate billing from the contract and the process the billing events on the project when generating the invoices.

Oracle support many to many relationship between projects and contracts.

By standard functionality you need to create a project, and then create a contract. On the contract header there is a place to link it to a single project or to a program project. You can then link projects and tasks to the contract lines.

There is no method to create a project from a contract. However you could develop such customization.

Dina
  • 2. Re: Difference between contract creation and project creation
    HawkerHunter Newbie
    Hi Dina,
    thanks for your reply. We are currently implementing Oracle Projects in our company where our main business is construction works.