4 Replies Latest reply on Jun 23, 2010 4:38 PM by Tom B-Oracle

Poison messages

Hi All,
      I am new to Weblogic server.In my application I have deployed 3 queues which point to three different MDB's.
      My problem is that whenever a queue does not publish a message to its corresponing MDB because of timeout or if the message is a bad formatted message, I want that message to be sent to a new Queue called Timeout queue.
      Is this possible?If yes please let me know how I can achieve it.
      An immediate assistance would be appreciated.
      Thanks in advance.

Sri.
        • 1. Re: Poison messages
          You can try setting the jms retry limit and error destination for auto moving the messages to the error queue.

http://download.oracle.com/docs/cd/E13222_01/wls/docs90/ConsoleHelp/taskhelp/jms_modules/queues/ConfigureQueueDeliveryFailure.html
          1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Poison messages
            Tom B-Oracle
            Poison messages can be handled in a variety of ways, and there's a very nice three page discussion titled "Handling Poison messages" in the the JMS chapter of the book "Professional Oracle WebLogic Server".

The following might apply in your case:

- Configure a time-to-live override on the 3 original destinations, or programmatically set time-to-live in your application.

- Configure a Q called Timeout.

- Set the error destination for each destination to reference this Timeout Q.

- Configure an expiration policy for the destination (to redirect expired messages to the error destination instead of simply discard them).

- Configure a redelivery limit for the destination (max # of retries before messages are redirected to the error destination).