2 Replies Latest reply on Jul 13, 2010 5:18 AM by 784044

How to apply ontology on the existing RDF model

Hi,
      I am new to Semantic web technologies.I am facing following issue.
      I have installed Oracle 11g with semantic support.
      I have few tables which stores customer,products information. eg :CUSTOMER_MASTER,PRODUCT_MASTER.
      Now used d2rq client and generated N-TRIPLE files by connecting to the above scheme i.e converted the tuples to triples generated RDF content.
      I could store the RDF data into Oracle 11g using the jena APIs. I was successfull till this point.

Now , I have defined an ontology for the above entities using protege. I was able to store the model to Oracle 11g using Jena APIs.
      But I am confused with following issues.
      1. How can I apply my ontology definition to my existing RDF model.
      i.e. - I have created a ontology definition MyOntology.owl and loaded into Oracle 11g name MyOntologyModel.
      I already have another RDF model which got generated from the relational table i.e. CustomerRDFModel .
      Now, how can I apply MyOntologyModel to CustomerRDFModel and execute meaningfull queries.

While defining the ontology, shall I use the same class names which are used in the CustomerRDFModel ? How can I link my ontology and RDF content ?
      eg:- I have a entities such as CUSTOMER_MASTER and PRODUCT_MASTER .Now in my ontology, if I need to bring some ontology definitions , shall I use the same entity names while defining Ontology.
      Otherwise, how we can apply ontology on existing relational tables ?
      Is it not required to convert the tuples(relational data) to RDF data for running the semantic queries ?

Please provide me some pointers on these issues .
      Thanks
      Aneesh K
        • 1. Re: How to apply ontology on the existing RDF model
          Let me explain it like this: