11 Replies Latest reply on Jul 21, 2010 10:04 AM by 786451

how to insert multiple rows in a table by user input ( pl/sql)

hi,
      I've been trying to insert multiple rows in a table from user input by some pl/sql, but failed every time. :/
      what happens is that the program suppose to ask the user every time for new value but the loop
      actually inserts the 1st values four times ( the loop is ran four times ). can any one point out what i'm
      doing wrong or some solutions will be nice ;)

here what i wrote

---------------------------------

set serveroutput on
      set verify off

declare

empno number;
      empname varchar2(20);

begin

for i in 1..4 loop
      empno:=&empno;
      empname:='&empname';

insert into employee values(empno,empname);

end loop;

end;

-------------------------------

dont laugh at my code, i'm new to this oracle :D

thanks, looking forward for some reply
        • 1. Re: how to insert multiple rows in a table by user input ( pl/sql)
          i think ,
          there is no loop needed
          • 2. Re: how to insert multiple rows in a table by user input ( pl/sql)
            BluShadow
            The use of &variable in a script is actually syntax for a "substitution variable" in the SQL*Plus tool (other tools may also do the same), not an inherent part of SQL or PL/SQL itself.

Whenever SQL*Plus is given a script it parses through it and if it encounters one of these it prompts for a value. This value is then substituted into the script before the script actually get's sent to the SQL or PL/SQL engine (process) on the database server. Once the script has gone to the database server it executes there and the results are passed back for SQL*Plus to display. However, the SQL and PL/SQL processes on the database server have no way to interface to the client machine, so they themselves cannot prompt for input from the client and you can't expect to prompt inside a loop as you are doing.