6 Replies Latest reply on Aug 22, 2010 5:23 PM by Dude!

VNC  failed to connect Connections refused (10061) Oracle Enterprise Linux

4joey1
      Hallo!I am a newbie in Oracle 10g having installed Oracle 10g in Oracle Enterprise Linux version 4 update 7.

I am trying to connect to the OEL server using a Windows XP client via VNC.In the Windows XP client,I have installed VNC Viewer Enterprise Edition 4.1.9.On the OEL,I have installed vnc-4.0-12.el4 and vnc-server-4.0-12.el4.

The vncsever is running as shown below
      [root@joey-oel ~]# service vncserver status
      Xvnc (pid 772) is running...
      [root@joey-oel ~]#

But when I try to connect to the server via the VNC Viewer in XP, get the error below

failed to connect: Connections refused (10061)

My server’s IP address is 10.0.0.1 and in the VNC Viewer Dialog box,in the server textbox,I entered the 10.0.0.1 server’s IP address and in the encryption textbox,I selected the Let Server Choose (Default) option.I even tried using the port 5900 option using 10.0.0.1:5900 but the same error appears.

How can I resolve this?

Thanks.
        • 1. Re: VNC  failed to connect Connections refused (10061) Oracle Enterprise Linux
          Dude!
          vncserver ports are opened from 5900 upwards. 10061 means that the server computer was reachable, but not accepting connections on the port you were trying to connect to.

Do you have anything in "tail /var/log/messages" on the server?
          Did you run "system-config-securitylevel-tui"? Select “Customize” and add 5900 to the other ports list
          To troubleshoot if it is a firewall problem you can temporarily disable it until the next server restart by typing "service iptables stop"

You may want to check that port 5900 is available by typing "telnet 10.0.0.1 5900" at the command prompt from Windows "run:cmd", or better isntall Nmap from http://nmap.org/dist/nmap-5.21-win32.zip to scan for open ports on your Linux server.