4 Replies Latest reply on Dec 15, 2010 12:09 AM by WPaffhausen

Migrating FDM Application from one landscape to other

Hi,

I am very new to EPM, I want to migrate FDM 11.1.1.3 application from development environment to test environment. Please guide me how can I do it. Any refer to any step by step instructions or document will be a great help.

Thanks
      -Naveed-
        • 1. Re: Migrating FDM Application from one landscape to other
          JeffJon
          There are quite a few KM Documents in the Knowledge Base in My Oracle Support explaining how to perform this process. There are two available options:

a) Create a new application in the target environment and in the source environment use the workbench to export all metadata including mappings. This XML file can then be imported into the new application in the target environment. This will migrate the shell of the application without any data.

b) To Migrate the application and all data, you would need to perform a database backup of the source environment and restore the backup in the target environment (SQL Server) or use the Oracle Tools to export the user schema to a .dmp file and import the .dmp file into a new user schema in the target environment (Oracle). The Application folder would also need to be copied from the source environment to the application share in the target environment. Once this is complete the <Add Application> process would be used to add the migrated application.

Hope this helps.
          • 2. Re: Migrating FDM Application from one landscape to other
            Yes, that definely help. I will try the same (No 2 option) and will be seeking further help if got into some issue.

Thanks very much for replying.
            -Naveed-
            • 3. Re: Migrating FDM Application from one landscape to other
              Hi,

When I do a export in the Dev environment and import in the Stage environment will it over-write all the values that exist in the Stage?