5 Replies Latest reply: Jan 14, 2008 5:28 PM by 807601 RSS

Adding JAR files to project

Hi there guys, I am VERY new to java so please bare with me here.

I just recently outsourced a java project and they have returned me the NetBeans project folder, which I can open fine. But they've also included some JAR files
      which I'm not sure how to include in my application:

do I need to create a folder among the usual suspects [  build, nbproject, src, test ] and copy the file (jfreechart-1.0.8.jar) there?

this is the code which currently isn't very happy:
      import org.jfree.chart.ChartFactory;
      import org.jfree.chart.ChartMouseEvent;
      import org.jfree.chart.ChartMouseListener;
      import org.jfree.chart.JFreeChart;
      many thanks help much appreciated !
      Gerry
      jar-newbie
        • 1. Re: Adding JAR files to project
          The project is probably already configured to have those jars on the classpath, so you need to check the settings for the project and place the jars at the specified location. (Don't know if the is how NetBeans works but that's how most IDEs work)

Kaj
          • 2. Re: Adding JAR files to project
            i dont know whether to include these JARs in the 'library' node of the NetBeans project or not?

The project node is problematic: it says there are unreferenced libraries (with the same names as the JAR files that I have been sent... unfortunately I cant get hold of this person who sent me it !! :-((

help appreciated !
            Gerry
            • 3. Re: Adding JAR files to project
              gvanto wrote:
              i dont know whether to include these JARs in the 'library' node of the NetBeans project or not?

The project node is problematic: it says there are unreferenced libraries (with the same names as the JAR files that I have been sent... unfortunately I cant get hold of this person who sent me it !! :-((

help appreciated !
              Gerry