1 2 Previous Next 15 Replies Latest reply: Sep 29, 2010 4:17 AM by 789895 RSS

oracle trigger commit

I wrote a trigger to capture a field change.
      it inserts a record to audit table when the field value changes.
      I am a newbie.

is the record inserted when the change is commited by default?

or any script to set it (on commit)
        • 1. Re: oracle trigger commit
          Yes

You need to explicitly mention commit.Inside a trigger you can write commit as given below
          CREATE OR REPLACE TRIGGER bef_ins_emp

BEFORE INSERT ON emp FOR EACH ROW

DECLARE

PRAGMA AUTONOMOUS_TRANSACTION;

BEGIN

INSERT INTO emp_audit VALUES (

:new.ename, 'BEFORE INSERT', SYSDATE);

COMMIT;

END;
          Thanks
          AJ
          • 2. Re: oracle trigger commit
            Toon Koppelaars
            I assume you mean: is the insert committed, when the change (that fired the trigger) is commited?

The answer would then be: yes.

I see no reason why you would want to make the trigger an autonomous-transaction and have it commit just the insert.
            • 3. Re: oracle trigger commit
              Tubby
              I wouldn't recommend putting the autonomous transaction directly in the trigger. Mostly because of human error (or the potential to it).

If someone comes along and see the trigger, misses the autonomous transaction declaration (or doesn't know what it is and the ramifications are) then you've got quite a mess on your hands.

Also, if you end up needing more functionality in the trigger (outside of pure auditing, which is one of the VERY few cases i'd actually recommend using an autonomous transaction in) you would need to create another trigger, which gets ugly from a maintenance / understandability perspective.

A better (in my opinion anyway) approach would be something like
              create table emp as select * from scott.emp where 1 = 0;

create table emp_audit
              (
                 ename       varchar2(30),