10 Replies Latest reply on Sep 20, 2010 1:36 PM by 843789

HashMaps: NullPointerException when getting a value

Hi, I'm a beginner in using Hashmap and there is something that is turning me crazy but should be very easy if I had the concepts clear.
      I'm trying to use a HashMap to store some float (energy) values for each point in space represented by a coordinate(x,y,z) defined in a simple class that I call Coord3d.
      I have apparently no problem in creating the hashmap and filling it up with the energy values for each coordinate.

My problem comes when I try to read the value for any given coordinate:
      1.- If I use something like
                coord= new Coord3d((float) 0.0, (float) 0.0, (float) 0.0);
                energy= energyValues.get(coord);
      I get a NullPointer exception in the "get"

2.- If I assign values directly as in:
                coord.x= (float) 0.0;
                coord.y= (float) 0.0;
                coord.z= (float) 0.0;

The "get" function of the Hasmap does not return the energy value of the searched coordinate but instead it returns the last stored value.

Attached I send a very simple and short testcase that reproduces my problems.
      Thanks for any help and best regards,

JBB
      import java.util.HashMap;
      public class testCaseHashMap {
           public static void main(String[] args) {
                HashMap<Coord3d, Float> energyValues;
                energyValues = new HashMap<Coord3d, Float>(); //Must use Object Float instead of primitive data type float 
                Coord3d coord= new Coord3d(-20.0f, -20.0f, -20.0f);
                float energy=0.0f;
                float x = 0,y = 0,z = 0;

for(int incX=0; incX<2; incX++){
                     for(int incY=0; incY<2; incY++){
                          for(int incZ=0; incZ<2; incZ++){
                               x= (float) incX;
                               y= (float) incY;
                               z= (float) incZ;