1 2 Previous Next 16 Replies Latest reply: Sep 28, 2008 11:12 PM by 843785 RSS

Need help with finding prime numbers

I have seen this question asked several times so i apologize for asking once again but I am very new to programming and could use some help. I know the way I have the extra if statements is not at all efficient but I cannot seem to figure out how to get a nested for statement with a divisor to work. The error I'm getting with this current code is that the second for statement needs to be boolean.
      /*
       */

package primenumbers;

/**
       * @author Owner
       */
      public class Main {

/**
           * @param args the command line arguments
           */
          public static void main(String[] args) {
              int primecount; //running total of prime numbers
              int incrementer; //increment numbers
              int sqrtInc; //square root of current increment
              int divisor;

//set variables to 0
              primecount =0;
              incrementer=3;
              sqrtInc = (int)Math.sqrt(incrementer);
              divisor = 0;

//print 2
              System.out.println("2");

for(incrementer = 3; incrementer < 10000; incrementer = incrementer + 1 )

{  

if (incrementer % 2 != 0)
                    if (sqrtInc % 3 != 0)
                       if (sqrtInc % 5 != 0)
                            if (sqrtInc % 7 != 0)
                                if (sqrtInc % 9 != 0)
                                    if (sqrtInc % 11 != 0)
          for (divisor = 3; divisor = incrementer; divisor = divisor +1)
                                    if ( incrementer % divisor !=0)

if (incrementer % (Math.sqrt(incrementer)) != 0)
                System.out.println(incrementer);
           }

} 

}
        • 1. Re: Need help with finding prime numbers
          1) Describe in English and/or pseudocode the algorithm you're trying to implement. You can do this with zero knowledge of Java.