This discussion is archived
1 2 Previous Next 17 Replies Latest reply: Aug 2, 2010 4:33 PM by 793415 RSS

Web Start with local folders included

843804 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hello experts,

I am new to Java Web Start. After two days, I finally got Web Start to work :) The app is deployed and run as expected. But the app cannot find its resources. The app contains some local folders and files such as docs, grids, temp, app.properties, paths.txt. I have all the folders and files jarred in app.jar. app.jar, launch.html, and launch.jnlp are archived in war file and deployed. The app uses common File IO such as File, FileReader, and BufferedReader. Would that work or I have to use JNLP API? I guess my question is - when the app downloaded and run how does it know where to find the folders and files when app.jar is sitting on the web server? Can someone point me to the right direction.

Thank you in advance
btran
  • 1. Re: Web Start with local folders included
    793415 Pro
    btran007 wrote:
    ..The app uses common File IO such as File, FileReader, and BufferedReader. Would that work or I have to use JNLP API?
    The answers to both your questions are 'no'. Resources within Jar files are accessed by URL, something like..
    URL urlToResource = this.getClass().getResource("/launch.html");
    InputStream is = urlToResource.openStream();
    InputStreamReader isr = new InputStreamReader(is);
    // ...
    I am not sure from your description if you mean that the main Jar contains other Jars. That will not work. If the app. uses multiple Jars, just add multiple <jar ...> elements in the JNLP.
  • 2. Re: Web Start with local folders included
    843804 Newbie