7 Replies Latest reply on Oct 29, 2009 8:03 AM by PhHein

How to load an RSA private key from a file?

Hi,
      I'm a newbie in regards to the Security APIs and I have need to have an instance of 'PrivateKey' passed off to an library I'm working with (GData to be specific).

My public key was generated with OpenSSL and is a 1024-bit RSA key encoded in an X.509 certificate in PEM format. I also have my private key in a separate file and I would like to load the private key from that file and have it converted into correct instance of 'PrivateKey'. Can some one point in a general direction on how I would accomplish this?

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,
      Justin
        • 1. Re: How to load an RSA private key from a file?
                     File pubKeyFile = ...
                     File privKeyFile = ...

// read public key DER file
                      DataInputStream dis = new DataInputStream(new FileInputStream(pubKeyFile));
                      byte[] pubKeyBytes = new byte[(int)pubKeyFile.length()];
                      dis.readFully(pubKeyBytes);
                      dis.close();

// read private key DER file
                      dis = new DataInputStream(new FileInputStream(privKeyFile));
                      byte[] privKeyBytes = new byte[(int)privKeyFile.length()];
                      dis.read(privKeyBytes);
                      dis.close();

KeyFactory keyFactory = KeyFactory.getInstance("RSA");

// decode public key
                      X509EncodedKeySpec pubSpec = new X509EncodedKeySpec(pubKeyBytes);
                      RSAPublicKey pubKey = (RSAPublicKey) keyFactory.generatePublic(pubSpec);

// decode private key
                      PKCS8EncodedKeySpec privSpec = new PKCS8EncodedKeySpec(privKeyBytes);
                      RSAPrivateKey privKey = (RSAPrivateKey) keyFactory.generatePrivate(privSpec);

Message was edited by:
          sabre150
          • 2. Re: How to load an RSA private key from a file?