2 Replies Latest reply: Oct 11, 2010 3:18 PM by 803338 RSS

Eclipse JRE/JDK must be available error

HELP!!!. i am trying to run eclipse 3.5 and i am getting the following error

A Java Runtime Environment (JRE) or java Development Kit (JDK)
      must be available in order to run eclipse. No Java virtual machiene
      was found after searching the following locations:
      C:\Users\Colin|Desktop\eclipse-jee-galileo-win32\eclipse\jre\bin\javaw.exe
      javaw.exe in your current PATH

bare with me because i am new to this. I installed both JDK and JRE from the following webpage <http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/java/javase/downloads/index.html> and have reinstalled them after i have unzipped the eclipse files and i am still getting the error.

if i follow that path C:\Users\Colin|Desktop\eclipse-jee-galileo-win32\eclipse\jre\bin\javaw.exe

the jre\bin\javaw.exe part doesnt exist so is there a way to change where it is looking to the correct location???

my javaw.exe file is located at

C:\Program Files\Java\jdk1.6.0_21\bin

any help would be appreciated.
        • 1. Re: Eclipse JRE/JDK must be available error
          Hello,

In the installation eclipse search for java virtual machines on your system.
          In your case eclipse doesn't found a suitable javaw executable in the system path.

You have to set the "C:\Program Files\Java\jdk1.6.0_21\bin" in the system path and then install eclipse.

1# From the desktop, right-click My Computer and click Properties.
          2# In the System Properties window, click on the Advanced tab.
          3# In the Advanced section, click the Environment Variables button.
          4# Finally, in the Environment Variables window, highlight the path variable in the Systems Variable (not user variables) section and click the Edit button. Add ";C:\Program Files\Java\jdk1.6.0_21\bin" to the path line. Each different directory is separated with a semicolon.
          5# Open a system console and execute
          java -version