8 Replies Latest reply: Oct 18, 2010 4:43 PM by captfoss RSS

Introduction to Mixer objects

Hello,

I am a relative beginner to Java Sound, so I appologise for the inanity of the question.

I have a WAV file I want to manipulate, and am wanting to use a Mixer object to do so. Various tutorials I have looked at talk of InputStreams from devices, and have seen no talk of input from a file. Is this possible? if so, I would be grateful for a link to relavent tutorials, or for example code.

The alternative to this is to use DSP, but as this is far more complicated, I would like to explore Mixer avenues first.

Many thanks,
      Fiona
        • 1. Re: Introduction to Mixer objects
          captfoss
          801897 wrote:
          I have a WAV file I want to manipulate, and am wanting to use a Mixer object to do so. Various tutorials I have looked at talk of InputStreams from devices, and have seen no talk of input from a file. Is this possible? if so, I would be grateful for a link to relavent tutorials, or for example code.
          AudioInputStream ais = AudioSystem.getAudioInputStream(new File("test.wav"));
          • 2. Re: Introduction to Mixer objects
            I now have the Mixer working, and am trying to get the wav file in, alter it then save it.

I can read it in, but it is automatically sent to the speaker, then the output is unrecognisable (27 minutes longer than input).

The code is an altered version of some example code, and i am having trouble figuring out what still needs to be changed:
                        File soundFile = file;
                        AudioInputStream audioInputStream = AudioSystem.getAudioInputStream(soundFile);
                        AudioFormat audioFormat = audioInputStream.getFormat();
                        DataLine.Info info = new DataLine.Info(SourceDataLine.class, audioFormat);

Mixer.Info[] mixerInfo =
                                AudioSystem.getMixerInfo();