5 Replies Latest reply: Nov 30, 2004 4:51 AM by 807596 RSS

new to java

Hi

As per qualification I am a chemical engineer. I am interested in programming especially java. What should be the best way? Should i go for java certfications, starting with sun certified java programmer? what books should i consult since i am a beginner?

Thank you
        • 1. Re: new to java
          It's difficult to answer your question with specifics as you don't give your objectives. Take a look at this New to Java Center and see if it helps.

http://java.sun.com/learning/new2java/index.html
          • 2. Re: new to java
            notivago
            With jverds compliments:

Code Tags

When you post code, please use [code] and [/code] tags as described in Formatting Help on the message entry page. It makes it much easier to read.

Resources for Beginners

Sun's basic Java tutorial

Sun's New To Java Center. Includes an overview of what Java is, instructions for setting up Java, an intro to programming (that includes links to the above tutorial or to parts of it), quizzes, a list of resources, and info on certification and courses.

http://javaalmanac.com. A couple dozen code examples that supplement The Java Developers Almanac.

jGuru. A general Java resource site. Includes FAQs, forums, courses, more.

JavaRanch. To quote the tagline on their homepage: "a friendly place for Java greenhorns." FAQs, forums (moderated, I believe), sample code, all kinds of goodies for newbies. From what I've heard, they live up to the "friendly" claim.

Bruce Eckel's Thinking in Java (Available online.)
            Joshua Bloch's Effective Java
            Bert Bates and Kathy Sierra's Head First Java. This one has been getting a lot of very positive comments lately.

Don't Crosspost