6 Replies Latest reply on Nov 2, 2002 5:43 AM by 807593

urgent need help

I am writing a program to implement a B+ tree GUI interface. All the classes are compiling but when try to run my main class btview i am getting the following error. i am new to java,could any body explain as to whats going wrong??

thanks
      sagarika

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.InternalError: Can't connect to X11 window server using ':0.0' as the value of the DISPLAY variable.
      at sun.awt.X11GraphicsEnvironment.initDisplay(Native Method)
      at <Unloaded Method>
      at java.lang.Class.forName0(Native Method)
      at java.lang.Class.forName(Class.java:124)
      at java.awt.GraphicsEnvironment.getLocalGraphicsEnvironment(GraphicsEnvironment.java:63)
      at <Unloaded Method>
      at java.lang.Class.forName0(Native Method)
      at java.lang.Class.forName(Class.java:124)
      at java.awt.Toolkit$2.run(Toolkit.java:499)
      at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
      at java.awt.Toolkit.getDefaultToolkit(Toolkit.java:492)
      at java.awt.Window.getToolkit(Window.java:432)
      at nodeContent.<init>(nodeContent.java:54)
      at btview.main(btview.java:25)
        • 1. Re: urgent need help
          sorry dude. I'm new to java too. Just want to comfort you by letting you know that ppl. are actually looking at this :) sorry I kan't help.
          • 2. Re: urgent need help
            sorry dude. I'm new to java too. Just want to comfort you by letting you know that ppl. are actually looking at this :) sorry I kan't help.

~ Nesho100

P.S. you might try assigning some duke dollars to it. add a little motivation.
            • 3. Re: urgent need help

~ Nesho100

P.S. you might try assigning some duke dollars to it. add a little motivation.
              • 4. Re: urgent need help

This looks like you haven't set up X11 right, or aren't using it right.
                Can you run ANY X11 programs? Are you sure your X11 server is running?