11 Replies Latest reply on Nov 13, 2001 7:14 PM by 807592

Please I'm new to java.Can anyone help me?

Whenever i try to execute a java program
      at the command line I get the error message " .classfiles not found.I checked in my directory and the classfiles are there.I made sure I'm in the directory when i'm trying to execute the .class files.
      when i use EditPlus i get the error message of

---------- java ----------
      java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: Comparison
      Exception in thread "main" Normal Termination
      Output completed (1 sec consumed).

Can anyone tell what i'm doing wrong or what i'm not doing?
        • 1. Re: Please I'm new to java.Can anyone help me?
          Kind of sounds like you are trying to run a class that either has a badly defined main method or none at all.
          • 2. Re: Please I'm new to java.Can anyone help me?
            Post your main() method please so somebody may help you.
            • 3. Re: Please I'm new to java.Can anyone help me?
              I don't know anything about EditPlus, but NoClassDefFound error is usually a classpath problem. If your Comparison.class file is in a directory named c:\myjava then java needs to know how to find it. Some editors manage this for you, some don't. If you are using EditPlus to try to run your applications, then check the documentation for classpath settings. (And java class names are case sensitive, so if you defined your class as comparison, java can't find Comparison.)
              • 4. Re: Please I'm new to java.Can anyone help me?
                make sure your program is correct firstly, then check your classpath. if both are correct, you may try:
                java -cp . yourapplication
                • 5. Re: Please I'm new to java.Can anyone help me?
                  Ok here is the program I'm trying to execute:
                  import javax.swing.JOptionPane;
                  public class Comparison
                  {