6 Replies Latest reply: Aug 18, 2010 5:41 PM by 800330 RSS

what kind of design pattern is this?

Hi ,

I am just learning the designpattern. So when I went through different kinds of design pattern, I got some doubts as it looks same some design patterns. could anybody please tell what kind of design pattern is the following one?
      public interface IExporter{

void export();
      }
      public class ExcelExporter implements IExporter{
      public void export(){
      //TODO implementation
      }
      }
      public class CVSExporter implements IExporter{
      public void export(){
      //TODO implementation
      }
      }
      thanks in advance..
        • 1. Re: what kind of design pattern is this?
          At least as far as I can tell the only 'design pattern' you are demonstrating is inheritance, which is not really a design pattern at all. BTW, you have 'questions' not 'doubts' regarding this topic. My advice is to learn more of the language fundamentals before trying to learn patterns. Patterns are really more about communication than design.

- Saish
          • 2. Re: what kind of design pattern is this?
            Well - in structure, it is nearest to the Command pattern as far as I can tell but it differs in so much as its motivation is to polymorphically allow the use of different exporters rather than provide a set of action commands.
            • 3. Re: what kind of design pattern is this?
              jduprez
              Well - in structure, it is nearest to the Command pattern as far as I can tell
              Or Strategy. Or Builder. Several design pattenrs may share the same class structure, the difference is in the context, forces, and the parts one want to be flexible. And if someone wants to make it explicit which pattern is applied, they should name things accordingly.