10 Replies Latest reply: May 20, 2010 1:41 AM by jwenting RSS

Is it ever better to avoid design patterns?

I'm fairly new to working with design patterns and I can understand how using them gives benefits. But at some points I begin to wonder if things are getting over-engineered. I've not done any commercial Java projects so I'm not sure if there are trade-offs from the 'perfect' design to project deadlines which normally affects most projects I've worked on in the past.
      The current pattern I was looking at was DAO's ( http://java.sun.com/blueprints/corej2eepatterns/Patterns/DataAccessObject.html ), where there are 4 classes needed to persist data! I can understand why it's done that way, but the amount of extra coding I would have thought would outweigh the perceived benefits that it would give.
      The idea that the coding protects from changes is valid - but if your writing a commercial application you are usually given a configuration to work with and a deadline to write it for. Niceties like future proofing are like diamond encrusted hub caps when your working on a second hand car. You could also be cynical and say that designing this flexibility into the system is doing the salesman out of extra cash when the requirement changes ( worked for consultancies for to long ).
      It's a bit like third normal form on relational databases - ideal, but real systems usually have some tweaks to make the system work better. ( I won't go into how I've always thought foreign keys were a waste of time at this point ).
      Interested to hear other peoples ideas on this ( withdraws to nuclear bunker and waits for a barrage of hate mail )
        • 1. Re: Is it ever better to avoid design patterns?
          jschellSomeoneStoleMyAlias
          You use a design pattern because you have a design that suggests a pattern.
          If you have a design that doesn't suggest a pattern then you don't use a pattern.