This discussion is archived
10 Replies Latest reply: Apr 2, 2010 6:09 AM by 800387 RSS

Real structures for this design pattern

843853 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hello , this is my first time posting and I hope to be doing it in the right section. I have a school assignment that says the following: Identify real or abstract structures that could be modeled by the class diagrams represented below: [http://img704.imageshack.us/img704/3523/diagrams.png]

Upon searching I found out that this is a composite design pattern. I have to implement 2 scenarios for this class system. I was thinking of taking class A (from the uploaded image) to be the Software ( more like a program oriented towards a certain domain like multimedia ), B1,B2 could be an Application/Compiler, and the composite class (D) is an Operating System( because is is usually compiled out of many software (program) pieces) . I want to ask for your opinions on this example because I'm not sure whether this is correct or not. If it isn't could you please give me a real-life example of a correct model ?.
  • 1. Re: Real structures for this design pattern
    800387 Newbie
    The classical interpretation of the pattern is for a hierarchical or tree structure, where the differences between nodes and leafs are factored into a least common denominator interface. Think of a file and a directory. Both have a name, a create date, permissions, etc. However, at some point one directory will be root. That one is slightly different. Then for a file, it will have a size and the ability to read and write from I/O streams.

- Saish
  • 2. Re: Real structures for this design pattern
    843853 Newbie
    Roronoa_Zorro wrote:
    Hello , this is my first time posting and I hope to be doing it in the right section. I have a school assignment that says the following: Identify real or abstract structures that could be modeled by the class diagrams represented below: [http://img704.imageshack.us/img704/3523/diagrams.png]