8 Replies Latest reply: Mar 3, 2010 7:41 PM by 843853 RSS

Expanding Objects

I am a relatively experienced Java coder, but I am having trouble with this one for some reason...

Let's say I have 4 Objects. Form, IntField, TextField, DropField
      All the *Field Objects have some similar attributes (let's say idNumber & name)
      And a Form can contain any amount or combinations of these Objects.

So I started with an Abstract Object GeneralField it contained the name, idNumber variables.
      Then I had
      public class IntField extends GeneralField{...}
      etc.

My Form Object had a List<GeneralField> and that works well.

But it became more complex. The *Field types all have different methods. For instance an IntField can have a getMaxInt(); and a DropField has a getIndex();

But if I have a loop: for(GeneralField gf : list)
      gf can never have access to getMaxInt(); (Obviously).

So I then add into the mix IField (an Interface which contains all the possible methods)
      and now I have:
      public class IntField extends GeneralField implements IField{}
      and my List<IField>
      But what I now get is IField always has access to getMaxInt() even for a TextField which that makes no sense for. Now I know I could easily just throw an NonsensicalAttributeException or return null, but that doesn't seem appropriate.

So I started reading more about the Decorator pattern, which I would build an Interface called IIntField and call
      IIntField myInt = new IIntField(new IntField()); 
      and that easily goes into my List<IField>

but then if I do my loop for(IField f : list) I need some way of knowing that this instance of f is an IIntField. Without resorting toinstanceof.

I read up on various other patterns and nothing seems to do what I want. The only thing I can think of is to have a boolean on IField that says isIIntField() and when I create a new IIntfield set it to true then I can cast it:
      for(IField f : list){