2 Replies Latest reply: Aug 27, 2009 4:04 AM by jduprez RSS

How to implent "X not yet an element of array[][] on row r"?

Hi, I'm a student business engineering and we have to write a program to solve a certain logistic problem. I still have a problem though and I can't seem to figer out: how do you implement the statement "X not yet an element of array[][] on row r of that array"?

To put thing into context, here is my code (in bold and underlined is where my problem is):

public int [][] calcSolutions (){

int k = 0;
      int c = 1;

for (int i = 0; i < nrJobs; ++i){
      .....setupTimeSol[0] = initSetupTime[i];
      .....seqJobsSol[i][0] = i;
      .....int r = i;
      .....int s = setupTime[r][0];
      .....while (c < nrJobs){
      ..............for (int m = 1; m < nrJobs; ++m){
      ....................if (setupTime[r][0] > setupTime[r][m] && "*_m not yet an element of seqJobsSol[] on row r_*"){
      ........................s = setupTime[r][m];
      ........................k = m;
      ....................}
      ....................setupTimeSol[r][c] = s;
      ....................seqJobsSol[r][] = k;
      ....................++c
      ....................}
      ........... r = k;
      ............}
      .......}
      }

I have already posted another thread where I explain my problem more elaborate (Implementation of Nearest-neighbour algorithm (single machine schedueling))

PLEASE HELP

Edited by: mdcnuydt on Aug 21, 2009 12:29 PM
        • 1. Re: How to implent "X not yet an element of array[][] on row r"?
          mdcnuydt wrote:
          m not yet an element of seqJobsSol[] on row r
          Can this be translated as : m not in seqJobsSol[].

If this is so, you might find using a utility method in java.util.Arrays helpful.

Or convert the array to a list and use if List.contains(m) != true
          • 2. Re: How to implent "X not yet an element of array[][] on row r"?
            jduprez