10 Replies Latest reply: Apr 27, 2010 2:06 PM by jschellSomeoneStoleMyAlias RSS

Multiplayer Game(Sockets)

Hey, I am having trouble with sockets. I am wanting to make a game that is multiplayer and will work on a freewebs site. It probably needs to use applet or JApplet(for guis).

I want it to work with everyone on the server, but i think it would be easier to just use a tcp and let others join in by using ip address. The problem is, I am not really good with Sockets and barely know stuff about them. I also want to make a game with images and stuff like that but all i can do is g.drawoval(). I get guis mighty fine they are easy. I want the game to be like mario but you can have friends play with you using your ip.

If you know any good tutorials(descriptive) or if you want to help please tell me. BTW, my site is jgdev.webs.com

You have to join to post iin our stuff. P.S. I only have one helper so far. Also I am a fast learner. I have only know java 5 days and can already make good guis. On my game i will need to know how to make gravity and stuff and animation.
        • 1. Re: Multiplayer Game(Sockets)
          please someone help. I finally got sockets down, but how do i insert them into sites for access and how can i make a thread make it available to more then one person.
          • 2. Re: Multiplayer Game(Sockets)
            gimbal2
            help yourself. Learning quickly is NOT a good thing, a good developer takes the time to study and research. Understand what you are doing.

For example, do you know about latency? Keeping clients synchronized by making your game updates and movements based on a clock pulse? Interpolation between frames to smooth out lag hiccups?

Those are topics you wouldn't learn if you would go fast fast fast and only study Java sockets.
            • 3. Re: Multiplayer Game(Sockets)