5 Replies Latest reply: Apr 1, 2010 5:59 PM by 843853 RSS

Jar file doesn't run properly, please help!

Hi everyone, i'm a student and i'm programming a game for my homework of AI subject. When i compiled the code from Eclipse, the game run smoothly, but when I create the jar file of the project, it appear blank when i run it. Here is the image:
      [blank screen|http://c.upanh.com/upload/4/299/3L0.8429518_1_1.png]
      and run from Eclipse:
      [Run from Eclipse|http://c.upanh.com/upload/4/299/TL0.8429668_1_1.png]
      I have followed the instruction of creating jar file in Eclipse properly, and now the trouble come. If anyone can show me how to solve this problem?
      Thanks all.
        • 1. Re: Jar file doesn't run properly, please help!
          I'm guessing, since you don't include any code, that you're probably missing--not finding--some of your resources--like the screen image file. Do you have try/catch blocks that look like this (notice the empty catch block):
          try{
          //code for what ever
          }catch(Exception e){
          }
          If you do, then go back and change them to this:
          try{
          //code for what ever
          }catch(Exception e){
            System.out.println(e.toString);
          }
          or this:
          try{
          //code for what ever
          }catch(Exception e){
            e.printStackTrace();
          }
          And your code will tell you what is wrong.
          • 2. Re: Jar file doesn't run properly, please help!
            I have all of e.printStackTrack( ) in my try - catch block. But i also think the blank screen appears because the class can not find my resources. Maybe it's my fault, because i create by hand a folder name "res" in project folder, then put all my resource in this folder. And in Eclipse when i try to get these resource, i wrote something like this:
                 Image robot1N, robot1E, robot1S, robot1W;