3 Replies Latest reply: Mar 1, 2010 9:01 AM by gimbal2 RSS

Designing Tower Defense

Hi, I'm currently studying Java in our course and we have a game project due on April. Frankly, our course doesn't teach much about Java except the basics. I would like to ask for some advice on which class to work on first, because our prototype is due about two weeks from now and I don't really understand the tutorials I've been reading online so we haven't really started on anything.Another thing I would like to ask is which layout would be easier to implement, using tiles or not. Thanks for all the help and sorry for the bad English. I'm a Filipino. :D
        • 1. Re: Designing Tower Defense
          First of all: your English is near perfect, so stop being insecure about that ;)

It is a little hard to guide here, as you don't give so much details. It is fine that your Java skills are not that strong yet as you are only in the prototype phase, but I do hope you are studying hard to get to know it. Learning a programming language is not something you can do in a classroom (only for support), it depends heavily on the amount of time you invest yourself, reading a book and trying out little experiments to see how things work. The basic idea is that you get behind a keyboard and start experimenting, you do not rely on information a teacher feeds you.

Having a pet project is a good way to learn, as you focus on specific problems in stead of "learning Java". But you cannot get into those specific problems until you learn the basic syntax of the language and the idea behind object oriented programming, so get cracking on that. The java tutorial is a good source for information in this regard:

[the java tutorial|http://java.sun.com/docs/books/tutorial/]

Now for your prototype: you'll need to be a little more clear on what you are supposed to do. What do you mean by "layout" and "tiles" ? What kind of application are you supposed to deliver? A console application? An applet?