10 Replies Latest reply: Jan 17, 2010 12:05 PM by 843853 RSS

the structure of a game

I am pretty new to game programming. I have made a few small games in the past working with classmates or alone, but most of the time I attempt to make a larger game, on my own I end up getting side tracked (homework or life in general). When I come back to continue working on these projects I find that its hard to sort through my old code. I saw a recent thread "[Building A Game On Your Own|http://forums.sun.com/thread.jspa?threadID=5422829&tstart=0]", but I want to ask a different, sort of related, question.

First off, I know comments, naming conventions, uniform white space patterns (you know just neat code) are essential to writing readable code. Although my code isn't comment heavy, I think my problem is that I have no idea how games are structured.

I think the obvious place to start is creating a window for the game to take place in, and then deciding what other parts the game needs. I suppose the structure of the game or even engine depends on the type of game, but can anyone provide some general guide lines for the structure or organization of a game.

For example in the past I have attempted to emulate the way XNA Studios has specific functions or methods in a "Game class" for handling different parts of the game (Although I was working in C++). A method of loading resources, a method for initializing game objects, a method for updating game objects, and a method for printing objects to the screen. Now that I think about the Java Applet class has a very similar structure, I hope that doesn't kill my discussion proposal.
        • 1. Re: the structure of a game
          To start off with you you'll need an animation loop:

JPanel and a Timer are great for implementation of this.

As for the rest, are you looking for a simple game like checkers or are talking something a little more epic here like runescape?
          • 2. Re: the structure of a game