1 Reply Latest reply: Aug 7, 2010 8:08 PM by 843833 RSS

J2EE Installation on MAC - Im really confused please help

Hi,

Well I just bought a MAC and I'm completely new at it, so I had my PC with the J2EE installed to create some web applications and I'm trying to configure my Mac the same way, so I went to the sun place to download the J2EE and downloaded the J2EE with glassfish and I got a .sh file, I've never really know why I need glassfish so if any one can tell me it would be great, I tried to installed it by double clicking the file and nothing happened I learned lather that I had to do it manually so I read the installation instructions and I found out I needed the JDK 6.0 preinstaled and the JAVA_HOME variable set, I recently set the PATH variable in the bashrc for executing mysql, so I guessed I could set it the same way but then I found out that Snow leopard uses a file bash.profile that is the one that should be set for this variables... also I found some java already installed in my Mac but I don't really know if its the JDK or just the JRE to be able to run so I went to the Mac developer site and started reading about J2EE and they say I should install JBoss another server I don't know about.... so....

- Is my JAVA_HOME already set? if not should I set it in the bashrc file or in the bash.profile file? should I change my mysql path too? to what should I set the JAVA_HOME? /library/java/home? or /System/Library/Frameworks/JavaVM.framework/Versions/1.6.0/Home?

- Do I have to install the J2SE JDK or do you know if my Mac alredy has it? I think I have a Snow Leopard Client, not the Server, because I had to install the mysql so I only got the JRE?

- What does Glassfish do? and what does Jboss do? do I need them for programing? I guess not I think I only need the librarys so do they do something that will help my programing? I use Eclipse so, should I download the glassfish tool bundle for Eclipse too?