14 Replies Latest reply: Apr 20, 2007 5:06 AM by 807596 RSS

Running Multiple JDKs on the Same Machine

I've been developing with the 1.4.2_07 JDK, but my company is moving to the 1.5.0 JDK as the new standard for our product. Of course, we're going to continue supporting the 1.4.x JRE as a deployment platform for the near term.

As a developer, I'm going to need to have both JDKs installed, side-by-side so that I can use both of them in my development/testing cycles. So I just downloaded and installed the 1.5.x JDK, and I defined the following environment variables:

JAVA_HOME_1_4 = C:\j2sdk1.4.2_07
      JAVA_HOME_1_5 = C:\Program Files\Java\jdk1.5.0_02
      JAVA_HOME = %JAVA_HOME_1_4%

In theory, I should now be able to switch JDKs just by changing my JAVA_HOME variable to %JAVA_HOME_1_5%.

Easy as pie.

Unfortunately, that doesn't work, because the 1.5 JDK installs a number of registry keys which hard-code the current java version. So, even when I have JAVA_HOME set up to point to the 1.4.x JDK, running "java -version" at the commandline indicates that the 1.5 java is being called.

I'd like to suggest to Sun that, in the future, there should be a generic, version-independent launcher that reads in the JAVA_HOME variable at runtime and calls the appropriate binaries and the appropriate runtime libraries.

Having to futz around with the registry every time I want to switch my development environment is a big hassle.