1 2 Previous Next 17 Replies Latest reply on Nov 1, 2006 2:34 AM by 807596

opening PDF file in a standalone Java Swing application

Hi
      I need a functionality by which a user can click on an icon in a JPanel and it would open a pdf document using Adobe Acrobat,
      I am not sure how to goabout this.
      There is NO additional requirement such as writing / creating / manipulating PDFs.

Just a 'click and read' functionality is sufficient.
      I am a novice at programming using Swing and Java in general. Hence I would appreciate some assistance in this regard
        • 1. Re: opening PDF file in a standalone Java Swing application
          You can use Runtime.exec() to call the Adobe executable and pass the PDF document as the first parameter. However, your challenge will be to ensure that you can locate the Adobe executable reliably (e.g., what happens if I installed it on my E: drive instead of C:?)

- Saish
          • 2. Re: opening PDF file in a standalone Java Swing application
            Also, this project on sourceforge advertises that part of its components can be used to display PDF natively in Java.

http://sourceforge.net/projects/xom/

- Saish
            • 3. Re: opening PDF file in a standalone Java Swing application
              Hi
              I created a mouselistener on the JLabel , clicking on which the pdf file should open.
              The code for the same is pasted below,
              public void mouseClicked(MouseEvent me)
              {

Runtime r= Runtime.getRuntime();
                   try{
              System.out.println("testing : Inside mouseclicked");
                   Process p = r.exec("AcroRd32.exe paper1.pdf");
                   }
                   catch(Exception ex)
                   {
                        ex.printStackTrace();
                   }
              }
              However on executing it , I am getting the following error
              java.io.IOException: CreateProcess: paper1.pdf error=2