13 Replies Latest reply: Feb 2, 2009 10:47 AM by 843851 RSS

Security comunication on MHP

Hi!

I am new in ITV software development and I would to discuss about Data Securitty in ITV applications.
      First questions:

What is the easiest way to do a secur communication between an Xltet and a a sever?
      Does MHP supports ssl or https?

Thanks,

David
        • 1. Re: Security comunication on MHP
          Hi There,

The general purpose security, for example for the return channel, is provided by the Transport Layer Security protocol (TLS). At a minimum it will provide RSA, SHA-1, and DES.

I have seen the package - org.dvb.net.ssl - in the MHP but I have not used it so can't give much information here. But this package enables applications to provide keys and certificates for SSL/TLS connections.

MHP and OCAP/tru2way supports HTTP. But your applicaion needs permissions to use any of the transport communication APIs.

Thanks.
          • 2. Re: Security comunication on MHP
            Thanks for answer,

Do you know if there is any way to use https?
            • 3. Re: Security comunication on MHP
              Unfortunately I do not know (or have not researched) https so far.
              Where as I have some knowledge on http (with out s - security) using java.net.URL and java.net.HttpURLConnection, etc.,

Thank you.
              • 4. Re: Security comunication on MHP
                If you want to use secure http connection in Java environment,
                you can refer and try JSSE (Java Secure Socket Extension).

I once have tried the reference implementation from Sun, and it worked but was little bit disappointing in performance.
                However it was a few years ago when I used it. I hope there is much improvement in RI, and even there are
                lot of commercial solutions for JSSE.
                • 5. Re: Security comunication on MHP