7 Replies Latest reply: Jul 24, 2008 9:09 AM by 843851 RSS

Xlet and web services

Hello, I'm new to Xlets. I would like to ask, whether it is possible to use web services in Xlets. If yes, can you please provide me with some link to any tutorial or source code? Thanks.
        • 1. Re: Xlet and web services
          Hi,

It'll depend upon exactly what you want to do; "Web Service" isn't very explicit. You might find that some of the API's you are used to using in J2SE are missing in the MHP and OCAP specifications.

Generally, if you are looking for tutorials or source code, then Steve's web site is the best place to start:

http://www.tvwithoutborders.com/

Roger
          • 2. Re: Xlet and web services
            Hello,
            simply I need to execute HTTP get and post methods. For instance, I have a server and there is servlet running on it. How can I execute HTTP get method?

Yet I don't know whether it is appropriate to use return channel for this purpose. If yes, how do I specify URL of the servlet?

I have tried to use Jakarta HttpClient. I created simple Xlet, that only created new HttpClient in its start method. It was compiled without errors, but I got NoClassDefFoundError: org/apache/commons/httpclient/HttpClient when running it in XletView. Is it because XletView does not support Jakarta HttpClient or Xlets in common does not?

Thanks for reply.
            • 3. Re: Xlet and web services
              Hi,

It's perfectly to use the return channel to communicate with a remote server - that's what it's there for! The URL you need will depend upon what is it you want to do. Remember that your application is going to be launched by the middleware of the STB from a carousel that it has received from a broadcast. There is no concept of a "default" page that your user is looking at to start with.