This discussion is archived
3 Replies Latest reply: Jul 19, 2009 4:07 AM by 807557 RSS

Application speed tips

800359 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
I am new to RTSJ and I am brainstorming to see anybody has any tips on ways to optimize speed of an application using RTSJ.

To give a little better detail, lets say I have a basic application that gathers data with one thread and graphs the data with another for instance. Are there any common ways to optimize speed in designing such an application with RTSJ in mind?

Thanks!!

Edited by: kci on Jul 14, 2009 11:36 AM

Edited by: kci on Jul 14, 2009 1:10 PM
  • 1. Re: Application speed tips
    807557 Newbie
    Are you asking with respect to the different performance characteristics of one RTSJ API over another? Or in the sense of "my apps runs this fast on regular Java but slows down on an RTSJ implementation, how can I speed it back up?" ?

RTSJ API's define tools for solving real-time problems so if you need something you need it - you don't generally have a choice of doing it a few different ways and picking the "fastest". That said there are some areas where you can experience different latencies based on using, for example, real-time threads or async-event-handlers. But I suspect latencies are not what you are referring to.

Can you clarify what aspects of performance you are thinking about?

David Holmes
  • 2. Re: Application speed tips
    800359 Newbie
    davidholmes wrote:
    Are you asking with respect to the different performance characteristics of one RTSJ API over another? Or in the sense of "my apps runs this fast on regular Java but slows down on an RTSJ implementation, how can I speed it back up?" ?