5 Replies Latest reply: Apr 11, 2009 11:00 PM by 807557 RSS

Designing a new scheduling policy

Hello,

I am relatively new to the RTSJ environment and I would appreciate a couple of pointers. I would like to design a new scheduling policy (and I particularly interested in EDF, laxity-based schedulers and time-utility function schedulers). Since I am relatively new to the platform, I am having a spot of trouble trying to get started.

I believe that the natural place to begin is to extend javax.realtime.Scheduler. So that is what I did. The problem is that I do not know how I would go about implementing the scheduling policy using the inherited methods.

In an effort to better understand how scheduling policies are implemented in RTSJ, I downloaded a copy of the jRate RTSJ implementation to examine its PriorityScheduler class (I use an education version of Sun's RTSJ for my actual research). The PriorityScheduler class from jRate did not clarify the process for me, it appears to consist of a set of functions to get the max,min and norm priorities, to perform feasibility analysis on the schedule and to verify that the appropriate scheduling parameters have been set in the threads being handled. However, I do not see a place where the actual implementation of the scheduling policy exists.

Would it be possible for someone to either tell me how to design a new scheduling policy for RTSJ or to point me to some examples or docs that would help me get started?

Thanks and sorry for the bother.
        • 1. Re: Designing a new scheduling policy
          Please forgive the many typos in the post above.
          • 2. Re: Designing a new scheduling policy