2 Replies Latest reply: Oct 17, 2009 3:48 PM by 807557 RSS

Looking to get my first SPARC workstation

Hello all! This is my first post here at Sun forums.

First, a little about me. I'm a Freshman Computer Science major (with an emphasis on java programming), and a long time [free]bsd/linux (linux sucks :P) user. I've always wanted to get into [Open]Solaris, just whenever I tried to use it on my intel/amd machines, it never seemed to work out. :/ However, I did experience it enough to realize that Solaris is a very powerful UNIX os.

Anyway, I'm looking at getting my next computer. However, instead of picking up the usual AMD stuff at Newegg; and after also using an iBook G4 [powerpc] for a while; I figured I'd try the next color of the rainbow: sparc. This machine would be my primary "desktop/workstation." This includes all the java programming for school/fun, all the web browsing (facebook, youtube, the usual), all the music playback/recording (I play with pianos/keyboards as my other hobby), and all the torrenting. Can these machines handle this?

The "Sun Blade 2500" looks attractive to my untrained eye; specifically I found this one:
      [SUN BLADE 2500 RED 2x 1.28Ghz/8gb/73Gb 10k HD/XVR-1200|http://cgi.ebay.com/SUN-BLADE-2500-RED-2x-1-28Ghz-8gb-73Gb-10k-HD-XVR-1200_W0QQitemZ180343559629QQcmdZViewItemQQptZCOMP_EN_Servers?hash=item29fd5055cd#ht_2377wt_792]

I know nothing about sparc machines, besides what reading on wikipedia (yay RISC and scalability) could tell me. Also, I'm in no hurry to buy my next machine, at this point my status is "browsing." So I'm willing to research these machines a bit (which is why I came to you guys :D)

Now, for the questions. How do these machines perform, compared to the intel/amd stuff? I spent a while googling for benchmarks between sparc machines and intel/amd machines I couldn't find much.

Does java run faster on sparc?