4 Replies Latest reply: Apr 1, 2008 11:17 AM by 807557 RSS

CD-ROM on Ultra10 keeps ejecting disk

Hi. A short while ago I replaced an existing CD-ROM with a new DVD-ROM on an older Ultra10 (OpenBoot version 3.15). From OpenBoot, a probe-ide discovers the DVD-ROM. Regardless, it didn't work. O/S is Solaris 10.

I swapped the DVD with the original CD-ROM. Again, a probe-ide discovered the original CD-ROM. Unfortunately, I now find that whenever I insert a CD-ROM disk, the drive spins up, stops, then ejects the disk. I have verified that the CD-ROM drive and cable and they are OK - based on another computer system. Unfortunately, I didn't verify the CD-ROM was working OK before this adventure.

An iostat -En shows:

Soft Errors: 2, Hard Errors: 1, Transport Errors: 0, Media Error: 0, Device Not Ready: 1, No Device: 0, Recoverable: 0
      Illegal Request:2, Predictive Failure Analysis: 0

I'm still quite new to Solaris - which compounds this problem.

Does anybody have any ideas?

Thank you in advance.

Andre Fischer.
        • 1. Re: CD-ROM on Ultra10 keeps ejecting disk
          Hello Andre,

re-check that the IDE cable is properly attached and none of the pins is bent (drive or systemboard). Maybe you can swap the cable and drive with a known working one. The CD-ROM drive is attached to the second IDE channel und jumpered as MASTER.

If the hard disk contains a working Solaris installation (known root password, network conectivity), I would strongly recommend that you update the OBP/POST ("BIOS" of SPARC systems). Your OBP 3.15 is absolutely outdated, the current and last OBP is 3.31.

Link to the Sun System Handbook page of the Ultra 10
          http://sunsolve.sun.com/handbook_pub/Systems/U10/U10.html

Link to the Flash PROM Patch (update)
          http://sunsolve.sun.com/search/advsearch.do?collection=PATCH&type=collections&queryKey5=106121&toDocument=yes

Michael
          • 2. Re: CD-ROM on Ultra10 keeps ejecting disk