5 Replies Latest reply: Feb 10, 2010 3:39 PM by 807750 RSS

How do you add a new machine as an agent only to be seen by the server....?

I'm fairly new to this but I'm starting to get the hang of it. I configured what I call a sysadmin server to serve as a SunMC-4.0, Console, Agent & Server. I can connect to the server and I see all the Modules and what's
      running to I'm good there.

Where I am having a problem is that I setup on a second Solaris 10 box as just an agent box, configured it and started it sucessfully. Pointed it at the 1st machine (the server) and all seems well.

My problem is when I start the console on the server (machine #1) it still only sees itself not the second machine. I have looked through all the doc's that I have and there is nothing really on setting this up? A lot on jumpstart etc.
      but I just want to setup about 10 machine as agents (only) and use the one server machine to see them all. If someone could point me in the right direction I would much appreciate it.

Thanks,
      Tom

Edited by: ConsumerUser on Jan 26, 2010 11:19 PM

Edited by: ConsumerUser on Jan 26, 2010 11:20 PM
        • 1. Re: How do you add a new machine as an agent only to be seen by the server....?
          HI ConsumerUser,
          ConsumerUser wrote:
          My problem is when I start the console on the server (machine #1) it still only sees itself not the
          second machine. I have looked through all the doc's that I have and there is nothing really on
          setting this up?
          New Agents don't automatically populate themselves into the Console, you need to either tell SunMC about them (i.e. specify their hostname/IP) or have it scan a range of IPs to find it for you. For just a few systems you can probably just enter them as you go: [Edit --> Create Object|http://docs.sun.com/app/docs/doc/819-5417/6n7gj8249?l=en&a=view]