3 Replies Latest reply: Jul 14, 2009 9:26 PM by 807567 RSS

Thread migration

Apologies if this was answered in another post - I could not find it anywhere...

We just upgraded from Solaris 8 on an Enterprise 6500 to Solaris 10 on a T5240 with 2 cpus, 8 cores, configured to run 128 virtual cpus.

I am an Informix DBA who is seeing some odd perfromance on the new server. As this is not an Informix forum I will not bore you with those details. My question is this - Can a process running on one of the 128 virtual cpu's migrate to another virtual cpu? With the Informix database server, we start, for example 16 unix processes, they are called oninit. One of the threads started by Informix can begin running on one of the oninit processes but when necessary will migrate to another oninit process. Since these oninit processes are bound by processor affinity to a specified cpu (virtual), I wonder if some of the odd performance we are seeing is related to the fact that the oninits can "swap" threads between each other but maybe the OS's virtual processors cannot do the same thing with the oninit processes?

Thanks,

Mike

Edited by: Shoeless_MIke on Jul 10, 2009 1:27 PM
        • 1. Re: Thread migration
          Mike,

I'll do my best to respond, but like you say - I'm not exactly an Informix guy. Let me get this straight, the system boot sequence launches 16 Informix processes during the init phase. Unless the Informix code is specifically binding those processes to a particular CPU via processor_bind(2), then the thread execution context for all of those 16 processes can block and be rescheduled on a different physical CPU (context switching). Although threads have an affinity toward a CPU they can be forced over to the second CPU if necessary. Ideally, you would want to fix this using the shell command: pbind(1M). Note that context switching across cores within the same physical CPU has minimal performance impact (even across cores).