0 Replies Latest reply: Oct 15, 2009 11:08 AM by 807574 RSS

J2EE Applications Knowledge Transfer

As a result of a rebid, the Company A for which I am working recently won a contract that had been administered by the Company B for the past 7 years.

To fully possess the application that was built by the Company B, I am preparing a list of questions (see below) to facilitate the transfer. Because my skills in the field are not quite up to the task, I am inviting comments and suggestions to ensure a smooth knowledge tranfer.

Particularly, I have no prior experience in the areas of building an application to Dev, Sat, and Prod and releasing an application, what should I ask in order to possess the knowledge in building and releasing an application?

Here is the list compiled by me:

1. Provide software application development documents; e.g. uses cases, sequence diagrams, class diagrams, and etc. If the aforementioned documents are unavailable, what are the document standards followed? And please provide those documents.

2. Provide the User's Manual for the software application developed

3. Provide access to software application code version control repository

4. List the application development environment     
           What is the operating system used? Is it the Windows (which version)? Or UNIX (which version)? Or both? Or others?
           What is/are the application server(s) and their respective version(s) used for software development? WebSphere (which version)? Or WebLogic (which version)? Or Jboss (which version)? Or some other server(s)?
           What is the portal server used (which version)?
           What is the IDE and its version used for software development? The Eclipse? The NetBeans? Or some other IDE?
           What is used for version control? CVS? Or SVN? Or something else?
      5. Provide application production server configurations for code development and deployment     
      Examples: