9 Replies Latest reply: Nov 13, 2010 3:52 AM by sahar_ad RSS

OWB, External Table, and Test Data - Help?

Running into an issue I can't seem to find an answer to, I admit, I am a complete newbie to OWB, and I'm learning as I go.

We're running on Oracle 10.2. I've created a series of SQL scripts for table creation/inserts/updates. Now, I am trying to move the insert/update into OWB. I've created the originating data via an external table.

I can validate the mapping for the initial data load, but when I go to debug, I receive the "Could not find test data" error. I can access the data through the owner account, the OWB account, and by right clicking on the external object, choosing 'data', I can see all rows (its a small table).

The closest I have found to an answer is via: http://gerardnico.com/wiki/dw/etl/owb/owb_graphical_mapping_debugger , but I cannot find out what 'create and bind the operator' means I should do.

Any insight or direction would help,

Thank you!

-- Kerry
        • 1. Re: OWB, External Table, and Test Data - Help?
          Hi Kerry,

If you add a table/external operator to a mapping using "create unbound operator with no attributes", the table/external table is not bound to any table/extertable, you can not find the table/external table in Table Node or External Table Node of the project tree. If you right-click the operator, select "create and bind" to bind the operator to a table/external table, the table/external table will be created and you can find it in the project tree. Then you can deploy the tables, external tables and mappings to your repository.

Thanks,
          David
          • 2. Re: OWB, External Table, and Test Data - Help?
            sahar_ad
            Hi,

I have a flat file with 100,854 KB Size and the number of records are 947,740.