11 Replies Latest reply: Mar 16, 2009 11:49 AM by DarrylBurke RSS

How to find JDK version from Class Class File

Hi,

I'm new to JAVA , Please let me know is there is any tool or procedure to find the java class version from existing class file.Please do the needful.

Thanks in Advance
      Soundar
        • 1. Re: How to find JDK version from Class Class File
          try with
          System.out.println(System.getProperty("java.vm.version"));
          • 2. Re: How to find JDK version from Class Class File
            The first two bytes of the class file encode the version number of the "target version" of that class.

Google around and you should find an explanation of how to interpret those first two bytes. If I recall correctly 49 was 1.5.

I've read something on this, just can't recall where. There's every chance it was on this forum, so try the search facility (the search "box" to the right of screen).

Cheers. Keith.
            • 3. Re: How to find JDK version from Class Class File
              pvmk wrote:
              try with
              System.out.println(System.getProperty("java.vm.version"));
              Dude, Ta... I didn't know that one...

But it's not what OP asked... java.vm.version is the version of the running JVM, not the version of a compiled class.

[The API|http://java.sun.com/javase/6/docs/api/java/lang/System.html#getProperties()] says:
              java.vm.version       Java Virtual Machine implementation version
              Cheers. Keith.
              • 4. Re: How to find JDK version from Class Class File
                corlettk wrote:
                The first two bytes of the class file encode the version number of the "target version" of that class.

Google around and you should find an explanation of how to interpret those first two bytes. If I recall correctly 49 was 1.5.