10 Replies Latest reply: Jun 9, 2008 10:48 AM by DrClap RSS

any ideas creating app to read log file when updated?

Afternoon all,

I have been asked to write a java app which will read the contents of the server log file every time the log file is updated by the server. The app will be deployed onto WebSphere Application Server.

Can anyone point me in the right direction as I have never written anything like this before and I don't know where to start. Any help will be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance,

A.
        • 1. Re: any ideas creating app to read log file when updated?
          Read the logs, then do what?
          • 2. Re: any ideas creating app to read log file when updated?
            The log file will be analysed and the relevant entries will be displayed on an web page. This part of the app I know how to code. The part I don't know how to code is the reading of the log file when ever it is updated by the server.

Any ideas?
            • 3. Re: any ideas creating app to read log file when updated?
              And this web page will be updating 'live' as the user watches, presumably? Using some Ajax magic or other? I'd find out what logging framework is being used and write a custom appender for it that updates the monitoring site. That way, you don't have to muck about polling log files and such, effectively your monitoring app is updated with the same info as the log file, at the same time
              • 4. Re: any ideas creating app to read log file when updated?
                I don't know what logging framework WebSphere Application Server uses to write it's own log files and even if I did, I have no idea how I would hook into it.

I think you maybe getting distracted by details which aren't important to the question I'm asking. However I will explain what the app will be doing as it may help make things clearer.