2 Replies Latest reply: May 8, 2008 8:47 AM by 807591 RSS

return type using generic container with wildcard cause compiler error

Hi guys,
      I'm studying for SCJP, and one of the sample code fragment in the book say this is wrong but i dont understand why
      public static void main(String[] args)
      {
           ArrayList<Integer> input = null;         
           List<Number> output = null;             //line 4
           output = proces(input);                    //line 5
      }
      //------------------------------------------------
          public static <E extends Number> List<? super E> proces(List<E> nums)
          {
           List<Number> n = new ArrayList<Number>();
           return n;
          }
      I know if i run this it may give NullPointerException but at least the code should compile. However, i am getting
      found   : java.util.List<capture#890 of ? super java.lang.Integer>
      required: java.util.List<java.lang.Number>
              output = proces(input);
      My code does return a List<Number> and put it in a List<Number> so why it is saying i am returning super of Integer?

The book also suggest to change line 4 to
      List<Integer> output = null;
      to make it compile but it give me similar error
      Any explaination?
        • 1. Re: return type using generic container with wildcard cause compiler error
          lnthai2002 wrote:
          However, i am getting
          found   : java.util.List<capture#890 of ? super java.lang.Integer>
          required: java.util.List<java.lang.Number>
          output = proces(input);
          My code does return a List<Number> and put it in a List<Number> so why it is saying i am returning super of Integer?
          Um... because that's what your method is declared to return: a List<? super E>, where E is inferred to be Integer.

>
          The book also suggest to change line 4 to
          List<Integer> output = null;