10 Replies Latest reply: Feb 28, 2008 3:52 AM by 807591 RSS

Difference between (String....args) & (String [] args)

Hi all

I'm new to Java programming.
      Can anyone plz tell me what's the difference between (String....args) & (String [] args) If I'll use first one in place of the second........Does it make any difference?

Thanks in advance
      Namrata
        • 1. Re: Difference between (String....args) & (String [] args)
          "String... args" will declare a method that expects a variable number of String arguments. The number of arguments can be anything at all: including zero.

"String[] args" and the equivalent "String args[]" will declare a method that expects exactly one argument: an array of strings.

One difference that might not spring out from those observations is that in the second case (but not the first) the caller may have a reference to the array. In both cases the method works with args as an array of Strings, but if it does things like swap the array elements this will not be visible to the caller if the "String... args" form is used.

Edited by: pbrockway2 on Feb 28, 2008 9:33 PM
          Garbage removed.
          • 2. Re: Difference between (String....args) & (String [] args)
            Yes it does make a difference in calling part. as the first one the elipses will give you more flexibility in calling the method with any number of arguments but internally that too makes a array out of it. That is basically a representation. you can make the call to that method with any number of string parameters in case I and in case II you need to pass the String array defined within calling code.
            • 3. Re: Difference between (String....args) & (String [] args)
              Yes u r right...But I got this confusion b'coz of the following code...

class Beta
              {
                        public void Foo(String...args)
                        {
                             System.out.println("Beta:Foo");