3 Replies Latest reply: Dec 14, 2007 11:10 AM by 807603 RSS

Passing XML as Parameters to JNI

Hi! All. I am new to JNI programming. We have a small problem. The Number of arguments and type of arguments that has to be passed to my JNI keeps changing time and again. So I am being suggested to send an xml as a string parameter, so that every time I call this JNI I have to just change the xml. But I have absolutely no idea how to do it, can somebody please suggest me how to do it. Any sample code would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks & Regards
        • 1. Re: Passing XML as Parameters to JNI
          XML MIGHT BE overkill. (Maybe not - the XML libraries are getting easier and easier. Also: you could implement a subset of XML and probably solve your problem.)

Having done this once myself I suggest you look at the problem like this:

1. The objective is to pass your data across the JNI interface as a string. I will asume that you can figure out how to do this.

2. But the data you have to pass is more complicated. What you need to do is to define it as a set of name = value pairs, then reduce this to an XML string and pass it across the interface. Your data might be even more complicated, requiring - say - something like a record structure with fields and subfields. In that case, XML will also work, because XLM fundamentally describes list of lists (of lists). So each record can be a list of name/value pairs, and the values can also be lists.

3. Java provides the XML DOM object, which can be instantiated from an XML string. It also has "insert" methods, so you can stuff things into a DOM. there is bound to be a silar library for C/C++ which can be used on the other side of the JNI interface.

4. An alternative is to write your own DOM parser that handles only a subset of XML. There are several of these that people have already done out there on the web. Just google for it. You might find one you like already in JAVA, and reimplement it in C. or vice-versa.