This discussion is archived
0 Replies Latest reply: Mar 17, 2007 11:40 PM by 807606 RSS

Help? Communication of clients on different networks using ARP-type servers

807606 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
I thought I posted this about a week ago, but I can't locate it in the forums anywhere so here it is again.

Hey to all you great and powerful wizards of Java!

I am not a Java beginner, but far from an expert who has not regularly programmed in Java for a couple of years. I am a grad student taking an IP class and we have been assigned a program which builds on the socket based communication multi-client-server program we previously developed (pretty much a piece of cake). This new program is to "allow for multiple hosts in a network to communicate with other hosts on the same network (ok already done that) and one of two other connected networks (need some guidance with a couple of issues here). Each host knows the 'IP address' of other hosts, but does not know others� physical addresses. Provide an ARP-like server/capability so that packets may be sent throughout the networks (think I may have figured this out, but might need guidance here too)".

Anyway, the following questions may be intuitive to some but I am at a loss myself so any help/guidance/advice (code snippets?!?!?) would be greatly appreciated:

1) I think I have found some code in this forum that handles the IP - physical address conversion, but it seems to only determine the MAC address of the host it executes on using the host�s stdout. This seemed no help at first, but I think I have figured out what needs to be done from what I have read. The following explains how I intend to implement this:

1a. Run this class for each client program so they determine their own MAC address.